The Students’ Association Student-Led Teaching Awards 2022

In this post, Natalie Hay introduces the Edinburgh University Students’ Association Teaching Awards 2022, listing the Award shortlist, and setting the scene for the May-June Hot Topic: Students’ Association Teaching Awards 2022. Natalie is the Academic Engagement Coordinator at Edinburgh University Students’ Association.

Edinburgh University Students’ Association was the first in the UK to offer student-led Teaching Awards, and our Awards are now in their 13th year.

Staff play a pivotal role in the student experience at The University of Edinburgh, from Lecturers and Tutors to Supervisors, Personal Tutors and Professional Services staff.

The Students’ Association’s student-led Teaching Awards provide students with a meaningful opportunity to thank staff for their hard work and celebrate the very best of teaching and support at the University of Edinburgh, something that’s more important than ever.

We’re delighted that the 2022 Teaching Awards continue to celebrate the amazing Edinburgh Community, and that they recognise staff from a range of services and departments at the University.

2022 Teaching Award shortlist

In 2022, we received over 2,680 nominations recognising over 1,300 staff at The University of Edinburgh. A panel of students read through all the nominations and selected this year’s shortlisted nominees, which you can see below.

The Teaching Awards 2022 winners will be announced at our online Ceremony that will be aired on the Students’ Association Facebook on Wednesday 25 May, 2022.

Congratulations to all nominees for your achievements and thank you to all the students who nominated!

Outstanding Commitment to Social Justice and Sustainability

  • Debbie Aitken, Edinburgh Medical School
  • Glen Cousquer, School of Veterinary Studies
  • Al Lawley-Powell, Students as Change Agents

Outstanding Course

  • ‘Deaf Studies’, Audrey Cameron, Moray House School of Education and Sport
  • ‘Parliamentary Studies’, Marc Geddes, School of Social and Political Science
  • ‘Public Health Ethics’, Agomoni Ganguli-Mitra, School of Law

Outstanding Innovation in Digital Teaching

  • Neil Anderson, School of Veterinary Studies
  • Andrew Manches, Moray House School of Education and Sport
  • Dylan Clements, John Ryan, Sofia Garcia, Ian Faux, Jamie-Leigh Thompson, Catherine Davidson, Owen Glenn, Henry Griffin, Roxane Fontanini, School of Veterinary Studies

Personal Tutor of the Year

  • Patrick Hadoke, Deanery of Biomedical Sciences
  • Richard Milne, School of Biological Sciences
  • Carole Torsney, Deanery of Biomedical Sciences

Student Tutor of the Year

  • Brittany Blankinship, School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences
  • Stephen Dolan, School of Divinity
  • Filip Taneski, School of Engineering

Supervisor of the Year

  • Rosalind Allen, School of Physics and Astronomy
  • Andreas Demetriades, Edinburgh Medical School
  • Goncalo dos Reis, School of Mathematics

Support Staff of the Year

  • Lesley Johnston, Counselling Service
  • Alli Kilgour, Accommodation, Catering and Events
  • Shauna Thompson, School of Law

Teacher of the Year (College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences)

  • Bill Aird, School of History, Classics and Archaeology
  • Lynn McNair, Moray House School of Education and Sport
  • Fumiko Narumin-Munro, School of Literature, Languages and Cultures

Teacher of the Year (College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine)

  • Chantelle Aftab, Deanery of Clinical Sciences
  • Niall Anderson, Deanery of Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences
  • Sandeep Ramalingam, Edinburgh Medical School

Teacher of the Year (College of Science and Engineering)

  • Tom Bruce, School of Engineering
  • Fiona McNeill, School of Informatics
  • Waisu Popoola, School of Engineering

Descriptions of these categories are available on our website.

How will we Celebrate Together?

When students submit a nomination, the Students’ Association email staff letting them know that they have been nominated, and share the nominator’s comments anonymously.

After such a testing year, we want to celebrate all nominees for their achievements! Keep an eye out on the Students’ Association’s social media pages, and the Teaching Matters Blogs and Podcasts in the Students’ Association Teaching Awards 2022 ‘Hot Topic’ series over the coming weeks to find out about our nominees and join in the celebrations.

If you have any questions or would like to find out more, please contact us and the Students’ Association team at:

You can listen to the following podcast episodes from the Teaching Awards 2021 nominees, hosted by student, Grace Lavender:

And by Rohanie Campbell-Thakoordin (Peer Learning Coordinator at Edinburgh University Students’ Association), who chatsxwsk m with Dr Nikki Moran, a Senior Lecturer in Music, and two of her students, Tyler Tappin and Nicholas Ross.

Natalie Hay

Natalie is the Academic Engagement Coordinator at Edinburgh University Students’ Association. She is the staff support for academic representatives including Programme, School and College Representatives as well as the Vice President Education. Natalie also provides support for strategic development and training relating to academic representation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *